The reason I decided to do the test was basically, I told myself was so that I could stop thinking about it and wait until Thursday when I had my Blood test done.
I reasoned with myself that it would be way too early for anything to be picked up on the HTP and that I would be more sane if I knew I had no temptation in the house.
So I went to the cupboard and I got the test. I did it and I waited....after about 30 seconds there was nothing at all, not control line no nothing and my heart started to sink, the test was a dud, but as I took a second look about 20 seconds later I noticed the control line, so I waited.
After about the two minute mark, I started to Hyperventilate as I saw the unbelieveable. A SECOND LINE...COULD IT BE I WAS ACTUALLY PREGNANT, It was way too early to tell.
I couldn't think straight, I could barely breath, my hand went numb and started shaking, I was officially a stummed mullet. I started to cry.
Mark was at work that day and he rang me, to say he would be home in 30 mins, I said no trouble, I was stammering out my words, he asked if I was OK to which I replied I am fine but has better go.
A whole heap of Guilt rushed through, Should I have waited, what do I tell him? Do I tell him? Can I keep it a secret? Too many decision and my brain was fried.
I decided it wasn't fair to keep it from him, I waited patiently for him to arrive home. He did Finally after what felt like an eternity. He pulled in the driveway and I greeted him.
He looked me my tear stained eyes and he looked panicked. I wrapped my arms around him and cried, he asked me what was wrong, Without saying anything, I took him by the hand and I lead him to the Bathroom and told him to look.
He stood there for a minute as was very quiet, He turned to me and smiled... BUT I TOLD YOU not to test.
I felt mildly deflated, I said I am so sorry I did it to get it out of the house, not to think I was actually pregnant and it showed up, Are you angry i asked him?
No I am so excited, but it is so early and I wont get my hopes up until they confirm it for us. So I said it is going to be a long wait, but hopefully it was all good for here on in.
TO cut a long story short, Thursday rolled around and after a very unpleasant blood test, I phoned in the afternoon to have it confirmed, we are expecting our second child, on Oct 21st.
We are overjoyed and elated and we can't wait to meet our little one.
Hello,
ReplyDeleteYou dont know me, but i stumbled accross your blog while searching IVF. Your blog is a great read. You write very well.
Congratualtions on the success of your IVF. Has your baby been born yet? I see he'd due next week.
I am currently in the 2WW of my first IVF cycle. Crinone is causing an array of imaginary pregnancy symptoms and this 2WW is doing my head in. I see it did the same to you. Have you read your IVF story recently? I enjoy reading my old blogs to see what I was thinking long ago :)
Anyway, thanks for keeping this blog. Lets me know I'm not alone :)
Sal